Nippaku and the Liebster Award

I am delighted and honored to receive the Liebster Award! Many thanks to K-Law Guru for nominating me! His kind words encourage me to keep writing.

liebsteraward

There are some rules to give or receive the Liebster award:

  • Rule number 1: Acknowledge the nominating blogger
  • Rule number 2: List some bloggers with fewer than 200 followers that you really feel deserve a little blogging love!
  • Rule number 3: Let all of the bloggers know you’ve nominated them. You cannot nominate the blogger that nominated you!
  • Rule number 4: Answer 11 questions the nominating blogger has created for you
  • Rule number 5: Post 11 questions for the bloggers you’ve nominated to answer
  • Rule number 6: Post 11 random facts about yourself

Firstly, my nominations for the Liebster Award are:

  • P I C T U R I Z E I know next to nothing about photography, but I do know that the pictures Yuki Iwaoka takes, are stunning. Yuki uses a technique called HDR to give them a surrealistic touch. His photos show the magic behind reality.
  • Texan in Tokyo Grace Buchele lives in Tokyo and writes about everyday experiences with Japanese peculiarities, her marriage with a Japanese man and interracial relationships in general, and she gives you useful tips to survive as a foreigner in a country far away like Japan. I like her personal writing style, and her unexpected topics are always fun to read.

I would like you to answer the following questions:

  1. Why did you decide to start blogging?
  2. What is the best thing that happened to you this far?
  3. How do you like to spend a day off?
  4. What is your favorite music style?
  5. How do you see yourself in 20 years?
  6. What’s your favorite drink?
  7. Tell us about 3 Japanese things you couldn’t do without.
  8. What is the most beautiful place you have travelled to?
  9. Which of your own posts do you like the most? Post a link, please.
  10. What’s your favorite dish?
  11. What season do you prefer?

Next up, I am going to answer my questions (and they were not easy…Though I wish it would be these I’m getting on my exam tomorrow.)

  1. What’s your fondest childhood memory? I have a lot of nice childhood memories, so I’ m going to pick the one that pops up first in my mind. During winter, we made a giant snow slide in the backyard. It worked terrifically well. But by the time we were ready, it was so cold, that we preferred hot chocolate above sliding.
  2. Three words to describe you. Outgoing Bookish Asiaphile
  3. If you had to travel back in time to a specific year and place, when and where would they be? I would love to have a cup of tea with Sei Shonagon, writer of the Pillow Book, on a Thursday morning in the year 994. 
  4. What’s one food you like now that you didn’t like before? Olives. I learned to appreciate them in a Greek restaurant.
  5. How do you unwind? I read books, watch a movie, play music, meet friends… I’m still in college, so I have much time to unwind 😀
  6. Please recommend us a great website we might not have heard about. I like to read the blog of The Japans, a fellow Belgian who writes about her life in Japan. (I couldn’t nominate this blog because it has more than 200 followers)
  7. Is there any commercial brand you are especially loyal to? I swear by Coca-Cola and Côte d’Or chocolate.
  8. If you were facing imprisonment for the next ten years, and you could take three movie DVDs (to watch over and over), what would they be? Mr. Nobody, The Village, The Hours 
  9. Why do you blog? I like writing. And I always want to broaden my knowledge, so I figured out a blog would be a good idea to do some research on a regular basis and read other interesting blogs as well. 
  10. Which of your own posts is your favorite? Hard-Boiled Mistakes and the End of Faithful Translation, because this was one of my first posts, and it felt like I had “discovered” something. 
  11. What was the most memorable comment on your blog? Someone complimented me with the quality of my information. I love to hear that, because I always try to find interesting, reliable sources that provide some deeper insight.

And finally, some random facts about myself:

  1. My favorite color is green (at the moment).
  2. I love to make to-do-lists.
  3. I only eat raw fish, fried fish I can’t stand. Luckily, I can have sushi!
  4. I love lemons, grapefruits and other sour and bitter things.
  5. I play the clarinet, the piano, the contrabass, and I sing. I love to make music with my friends and family, and the local music school feels like a second home.
  6. I am left-handed. Problematic during calligraphy lessons.
  7. I am planning to go on an exchange program to Kobe University (later more on that!).
  8. The book I’m reading at the moment is War and Peace by Tolstoy. I don’t think I will be finished very soon.
  9. I have a Samsung Galaxy Note II phone. It is huge, and everyone stares at it every time I use it. I don’t care because I think a big screen is useful for taking photos and watching movies.
  10. I don’t like to wear jeans. They’re uncomfortable.

And hereby I conclude the most personal post I have ever made on this blog. Please look forward to the next update!

4 thoughts on “Nippaku and the Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

