Writing Process Blog Tour

Haruko of The Japans was so kind to feature my blog in the “Writing Process Blog Tour”!

Haruko is a fellow Belgian blogger writing about Japan. She spent a year living in Toyota city and came back loaded with so many stories, photos and memories that she could fill a blog with them. Her eye for detail, reflections on cultural differences as well as her practical information result in a highly interesting blog.

I was asked to answer the following questions:

1) What am I working on?

I work on a blog that publishes posts about every possible aspect of Japan. I try to approach a subject in an academic way. Because I’m Belgian, I sometimes link both cultures.

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I try to provide reliable information by researching scientific and academic sources. I think my blog also differs from other Japanese themed blogs because I touch upon varying aspect of Japan: culture, language, music, art, literature, politics, economics, science, religion, fashion etc. I have broad interests and combine them with my passion for Japan.

3) Why do I write what I do?

I love to know more about the country of my interest. I think it’s useful as well to keep writing and researching on a regular base. While working on my bachelor paper this year, I didn’t experience it as very difficult because I already have some writing experience.

4) How does your writing process work?

First, I come up with an idea. For example, I read something interesting or I ask myself “why would that be?”. Then I start looking for an “answer” by searching the World Wide Web and the university library. Or, it could work the other way as well. With certain information I draw my own conclusion and write a post about that.

To conclude, I invite K-law Guru to join the Writing Process Blog Tour! His original posts surprise me every time and the law cases are very interesting. This is a short bio and explanation of his blog:

K-law Guru (Blog name): An Essential Reference for Your Everyday Legal Questions in Korea!
1) Kang Ju-won (co-author): I’m a Korean attorney based in South Korea. I was admitted to the Korean Bar Association in 2012. I spent most of my childhood in Chile, the Philippines, and China. From 2005 to 2008, I served as an interpretation officer in the Republic of Korea Air Force. I like to write about law.
2) Popcorn Law (co-author): A Korean law school student in Seoul, South Korea.

I look forward to his answers!

Leave a Reply

